Family Meals, Food, Locally sourced food

Kale Crisps

So, I finally did it this week! I made kale crisps! I came across the idea years ago and have just never got around to it, but in a desperate attempt to get my almost 2-year-old daughter to eat vegetables, especially those of a green leafy variety, I thought I’d give it a go. The result? Its AMAZING! My daughter ate kale! I sat watching her with delight (and an element of smugness) as she chomped her way through kale alongside her Bolognese. So she may have discarded the peas on her plate, but I am satisfied that at least I got some greenery into her, and I am now a total convert to kale crisps – in fact, I made more the next day! They are so easy – I would urge you to have a go, so here is what I did:

kale

To make kale crisps you will need
A bunch of kale
Olive Oil
Sea salt

Preheat  a low oven (about 130c) and line a baking sheet with baking parchment.  Cut off the tough stalks with scissors (or tear them off).  Wash the kale and dry thoroughly by patting dry or using a spinner.  Spread the kale over the sheet and either spray with olive oil (this is the healthiest option as it uses much less oil) and sprinkle over a pinch or salt, or, if you don’t have an oil spray, toss the kale in a bowl with olive oil and a pinch of good sea salt.  Pop in the oven for 10-15 minutes turning half way (don’t panic when you check half way through that the kale is all floppy – it suddenly goes crispy during the second half of cooking time!).  If you used a spray, re-spray after turning half way through.

PS I used curly kale, but I am sure any kale would work – purple kale or even cavolo nero – please let me know if you try it!

 

About Jenna

I am passionate about food, and about creating food for my family and friends that is healthy and wholesome.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Kale Crisps

  1. Ooo maybe I’ll try this, my 2 yr od has a similar issue with veg!

    Posted by zoebell | March 14, 2013, 4:05 pm
    • I think definitely worth a try! Let me know how it goes! For Sophia it is a texture not taste thing. To be honest I didn’t think I could “con” her but it worked, and so now I’m thinking of making all sorts of vegetable crisps etc!

      Posted by Jenna | March 17, 2013, 2:30 pm

Leave a Reply

If you like what you see then please enter your email address to subscribe to my blog and receive notifications of my new posts by email.

Join 525 other followers

Twitter Updates

